Sea Glass & Wine

Have you ever walked along a beach searching for Sea Glass? Well I am lucky enough to say that I have, when I used to live in Canada. My parents and I lived across the street from a beach and I remember spending hours walking along the beach looking for sea glass, with the wind blowing in my hair, the smell of the salt water, and the self-texture of sand under my feet. There is nothing like it. Why am I telling you this? Well, today I am reviewing seven wines from a new winery Ijust found, called Sea Glass Wine. When I first saw this wine I knew I had to review it since my living room in my apartment is based off a beach cabin. It’s called Sara’s Beach Cabin, so you can see this wine pairs perfect with my décor.

13282298_10156985150605596_1664522378_n

“Nature is both our muse and our architect. Just as the ocean shapes and tumbles broken shards into precious sea glass, it influences our vineyards – and our wines. Our newest varietal Pinot Grigio is clean, crisp and fruity with traces of minerality, beautifully showcasing another gem from Santa Barbara.”

_MG_1798

NOW ONTO THE WINE

First on the list is my favorite out of all seven of the wines and as you can guess, it’s a Chardonnay; but not any Chardonnay. This one is a 2014 Unoaked Chardonnay, which means this wine has never touched Oak barrels in the process of being made. Does this affect how this wine tastes? Somewhat, but if you do love enjoying Chardonnays without the strong oak flavors, then this wine is for you. With flavors of creamy pineapple, citrus, and vanilla with a hint of butterscotch. Food I wouldpair with this wine would be pork chops, cream sauce pastas, and cheeses.

Chardonnay

Next on the list is a wine for all those wines lovers who love a little tartness to their wine. Now personally, I am not a big fan of 2014 Sauvignon Blanc. It’s too sour to the taste for me, but I know there are woman and yes men who love this type of wine. This would be the perfect wine to enjoy on the beach on a hot summer day. With flavors of lemon, lime, grapefruit with a hint of lemongrass. Food pairings would be herb-roasted chicken, Caesar salad, mild cheeses.

sauvignon-blanc-big

Now we are getting to a wine that took my taste buds on a wild ride. On Saturday I enjoyed a rare moment to myself. I grabbed Sea Glass’s 2014 Pinot Grigio and a new book and went out to my dock that overlooks the bay just off my building. Let me tell you, there is nothing better to pair this wine with then the open water. The flavors alone of this wine and the water were enough to transport me to a different place. Flavors of white peach, melon, tropical fruits. When it comes to food for this wine the lighter the better, like seafood, cheeses, and spicy Latin and Asian fare.

sg_pg

Ok, this wine is my favorite for its looks alone. When you see the bottle it reminds you of the clear blue color of the ocean. Now you should know by now that 2014 Riesling is not my go to wine to drink. For me it’s so sweet and I cannot stand sweet wine, but this one shocked me. It’s a refreshing wine with flavors of rich ripe melons, and summer peaches with a hint of green apple. Food I would pair with this wine would be spicy ribs or fresh lobster.

resling-big

Fifth on the list is a wine for all my Ladies who love a little color to their wine. Yes, this wine is a 2014 Rosè. I have to say I loved this wine. I am still shocked to admit it but when I did taste this wine for the first time it had a little kick to the taste. With flavors of strawberry and melon,dried rose petals and ripe raspberry. Food I would pair with this wine would be spicy foods, such as Asian or Latin cuisine.These next wines are for all my red wine lovers.

Rose

This 2014 Pinot Noir is a wine that is meant to be enjoyed with family and friends outdoors. Whether you are sitting on the beach or in your beach side cabin on a summer night, you can’t go wrong with this wine. With flavors of red cherry and strawberry, toasty oak and blueberry. Food I would pick to pair with would be porcini mushroom risotto, grilled steaks, sticky barbecued ribs, and blue cheeses.

Pinot-Noir

I saved the big daddy for last. Sea Glass 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon is a wine you enjoy while laying on the beach watching a bonfire. To me that is the perfect summer night while enjoying this bold, strong, red wine. With flavors of rich cherry and toasty vanilla with blackberry with a hint of spicy oak. Food I would pair with this wine would be big bold food such as chicken dishes, red meats, or game.

cabernet_sauvignon

Leave a Reply

