FOR THE LOVE OF GOLD

Want to know one of the main reasons why I love Chardonnay so much? Well it has to do with the color of the wine itself; the moment when you pour that wine into your wine glass and you see pure gold. Its literality like you are drinking liquid gold. But that’s not the only reason why I love it so much. It’s also because of the flavors. It has a wide array of strong flavors such as buttery smooth vanilla and maybe if you’re lucky, oak.

chardonnay

Today I am bringing you two special Chardonnays that I was lucky enough to sample the other day. The temperatures have been really cold here lately so I’ve been spending more time inside trying to warm up. So if you’re a lover of this wine, sit back and grab a glass.

12782508_10156616399170596_1415950497_n

First on the list is Waterstones 2013 Carneros Chardonnay from Napa Valley. This is the first wine I opened from the two wine shipments. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed. This Chardonnay was as strong and flavorful as I thought it would be. With a strong well-built body and powerhouse of flavors such as pear, green apple and nectarine fruit, with smoky oak. Food I would pair with this wine would be seafood or poultry, veal or pork chops, cream sauce pastas, and cheeses.

12782517_10156616391780596_1131506156_n

Second on the list is Mandolin 2014 Chardonnay Monterey. Now if you are looking for a little smooth, lighter wine to enjoy during those hot summer or spring months, this one is for you. For me it was on the lighter side as I mentioned, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t love it. With a light gold color and crisp acidity it’s perfect to drink on a hot summer day outdoors. With flavors of oak, orange, Meyer lemon, and papaya with a hint of butterscotch. When it comes to food pairing, I would pair his wine with something fruity like a fruit salad with a mint glaze.

649506

SO GRAB A GLASS & TOAST TO GOLD!!!!

Leave a Reply

