Where are my Chardonnay Lovers?

Since Chardonnay is my favorite wine to enjoy all year round, I thought I

would review some amazing Chardonnays that I tried lately. Now, this is

a little different blog post then I normally do, but since all these wines

are the same varietal, I thought I would review them together.

Sokol_Blosser_Chardonnay_vines-10002095

Now onto the wine.

First on the list is a wine that I really did like. It is Rodney Strong 2013 Chardonnay.

I have seen this wine everywhere when I have been to the supermarket. A little bit of history of

this winery. Their story begins more than 50 years ago, when a celebrated American dancer

named Rod Strong settled in Sonoma County to pursue a second lifelong creative passion:

winemaking. Rodney Strong Vineyards was the 13th winery bonded in the newly discovered

Sonoma County wine industry. I always never gave it a second look but I wish I had tried it sooner.

The flavors of this wine are a mix of summer flavors such as pear, pineapple, baking spices

with a hint of toasty barrel on the tongue. I would pair this wine with pan-seared

scallops, poached salmon with a caper butter sauce or grilled pesto chicken.

2011-rodney-strong-sonoma-county-chardonnay-beautyshot-72ppi

Second on the list is a social wine, because of its name; Vigilance

2014 Chardonnay. He named it Vigilant, for the dogs that watch over their flock of sheep.

These are not pets. These are working dogs that are primarily focused on protecting the sheep

from local wildlife. So when it came time to pick a name for this special wine, they decided Vigilant

because of how vigilant the dogs are taking care of the herd. This Chardonnay I loved so much.

It’s smooth and creamy with flavors of melon, pear and vanilla with a toasty oak finish. I would pair

Rodney Strong with grilled salmon with mushrooms, pan-seared scallops, or spaghetti carbonara.

2012_Vigilance_Chardonnay-3_125_467

Last on my list is Wild Oats 2012 Chardonnay. When I was researching this winery

I came across some amazing history. Wild Oats donates money for every bottle of

Wild Oats wines purchased, to Pacific Highway Wines and Spirits. They will

donate a meal to a local organization. So not only are you enjoying a great bottle

of wine, but you are also helping feed a child. The flavors of this refreshing white

wine are pineapple and fresh fig, creamy, spicy oak with a touch of vanilla.

I would pair this wine with pasta salad with lemon dressing or grilled salmon.

499235

The fourth wine on my list today is Shannon’s Ridge 2014 Chardonnay. I enjoyed this wine on

a very hot summer afternoon. It was the perfect wine to enjoy while the rising temperature got to the

point where being outside was too much. This Chardonnay has flavors of lightly toasted vanilla oak,

caramel and a long juicy finish. With its smooth body and low acidity it pairs perfect with many different

types of food such as seafood or poultry, or pork chops, cream sauce pastas, and cheeses.

shannon chard

Last, but not least, is my favorite of all the Chardonnay’s I have tried; 2014 Dalliance Chardonnay.

I know your probably asking why this wine is my favorite. Well the answer is simple.

This wine has flavors that could only be found in a real authentic Chardonnay.

The lush layers of unexpected flavors seduce the palate, bringing excitement to whatever

situation where wine enhances the occasion. Flavors are tropical fruits, pear, Granny

Smith apple, and lemon with a hint of toasty cedar on the tongue. Food pairing with

this wine would be all seafood, cheeses, and spicy Latin and Asian fare.

thumb.php

Leave a Reply

