Wine With The Animals

This post is for my white wine drinkers. Let me tell you,

I have two great wines to review for you to today.

I was so happy when I had these two wines sent to me to review. Why,

you may ask? Well, they are perfect for the heat wave we are having in Florida.The wines come from High Valley Vineyards in California.

vig-m1-sp15

What makes this company so different from others is that they are a one hundred percent California certified sustainable vineyard. Their whole vineyard is surrounded by wildlife, such as ducks, geese, deer, raccoons, quail, golden eagles, wild turkey, chipmunks and bobcats that visit regularly. They have even spotted bald eagles, a mother bear and her cubs, and mountain lion tracks.

 Now onto the wine.

The first one that I reviewed and I am writing this blog post while enjoying this wine at this very moment, is 2013 High Valley Sauvignon Blanc. This is the perfect white wine to enjoy while staying outdoors. With flavors such as lemon-lime, ripe tropical fruits, lemongrass and fig on the nose lime peel and mint. With its smooth body and crisp acids and lingering finish, it pairs perfectly with shellfish or a wide variety of cheeses.

11653206_10155751132435596_810575765_n

Second on the list is their 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon Rosé. I have to say I was a little worried to try this kind of wine. When it comes to white wine for me I like to stick with what I know. So to try a wine with the name Cabernet Sauvignon Rosé I was shocked to find out that I did like it. When it comes to red wine, I do love a good glass of Cabernet Sauvignon, so it was the best of both worlds for me; the smoothness and sweetest of a white wine and the bold body of a red wine. With flavors such as pomegranate, cranberry, blood orange and hints of lime on the nose you get a powerhouse of aromas of raspberry, pomegranate, and honeysuckle. It’s the perfect pairing with Mediterranean dishes and grilled steak with pasta salad.

thumb.php

Leave a Reply

